EMBL Grenoble 40th Anniversary Symposium poster

Click the image for a larger version

Download the poster

EMBL Grenoble is celebrating its 40th Anniversary in 2015 with an Anniversary Symposium scheduled for 4-5 June. The event includes an exciting programme of talks that will highlight the past, present and future contributions of EMBL Grenoble to the field of Structural Biology in Europe, and to the overall missions of EMBL. There will also be opportunities for tours of the EMBL Grenoble facilities and lab reunions on day two.

Join us to hear the collective memories of EMBL Grenoble and make this Anniversary Symposium an event to be remembered. Speakers include EMBL scientists as well as former group leaders, students and postdocs.

Contact us to register.

The EMBL Grenoble 40th Anniversary Symposium Committee

Thursday, 4 June 2015
12:00 - 14:00 Welcome lunch and registration | EMBL Grenoble Hall
14:00 - 19:00

Talks | ESRF Auditorium

Speakers include:

Christoph Bieniossek
Andreas Bracher
Florent Cipriani
Stephen Cusack
Matthias Hentze
David Hulmes
Jörg Langowski
Marco Marcia
Iain Mattaj

Andrew Miller
Christoph Müller
Tassos Perrakis
Carlo Petosa
Raimond Ravelli
Jo Sedita
Elena Seiradake
Francesco Sette
Karl Simpson

Bill Stirling
Mark van Raaij
Oliver Weichenrieder
Winfried Weissenhorn
Stephen White
Clive Wilkinson
Joe Zaccai

15:20 - 15:50 Coffee Break | ESRF Mezzanine
17:20 - 18:00 Cake and champagne | ESRF Visitor Centre Cafeteria
19:00 Transport to dinner
from 19:20 Dinner and entertainment | Château de la Commanderie in Eybens
00:00 Bus transport back to Grenoble campus and city
Friday, 5 June 2015
9:00 - 9:30 Networking coffee | EMBL Grenoble Hall
9:30 - 10:30

Lab reunions OR tour of EMBL Grenoble

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee break | EMBL Grenoble Hall
11:00 - 12:00 Networking OR tour of EMBL Grenoble
12:00 Sandwich lunch and departure | EMBL Grenoble Hall

List of participants


Rokhaya Tounkara
Tel: +33 476 20 7123
E-mail: 40thanniversary@embl.fr

Registration deadline: 10 May 2015
Travel information for EMBL Grenoble


Location: ESRF Auditorium

14:00 Stephen Cusack - Welcome
14:10 Helmut Dosch - "Life sciences at DESY"
14:30 Francesco Sette - "Life sciences at the ESRF"
14:50 Iain Mattaj - "Research infrastructures for the Life Sciences"
15:10 Florent Cipriani - "10 years of synchrotron instrumentation for biology (and the future)"
15:30 Thomas Schneider - "10 years of advances in synchrotron MX (and the future)"
15:50 Matthias Wilmanns - Closing Remarks
16:00 Celebratory refreshments in the ESRF Visitor Center

Attendance of the lecture programme is possible without registration.

If you would also like to attend the celebratory refreshments in the ESRF Visitor Center, please register by 12 March 2014 via the following form: